How to Watch the Golden Globes

Co-hosts Sandra Oh and Andy Samberg at the rollout of the Red Carpet for the Golden Globe Awards 2019 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, CA. January 3, 2019. Magnus Sundholm

There are plenty of big questions about this Sunday’s Golden Globe Awards ceremony: Can A Star is Born sweep all five of its big-category nominations, or will it get sha-la-la-la-shafted? Which award will be presented by Rami Malek’s stunt-teeth from Bohemian Rhapsody ? And, when it comes to all-time great Globes reaction-shot memes, will any celeb be able to carry Tommy Lee Jones’ fire ?

Of course, the biggest question of all might just be: How can I actually watch the awards? This year’s ceremony—the 76th so far!—airs on Sunday, January 6th, at 5pm Pacific (8pm Eastern) on NBC, and will be co-hosted by Andy Samberg and Killing Eve star (and nominee for Best Actress in a TV Series, Drama) Sandra Oh. So if you have NBC on your TV, you can just, uh...turn it on and watch? Assuming you still even use that thing?

How to Watch

For everyone else, you can simply watch the show as it streams. If you have a cable or satellite subscription, you can watch the ceremony on NBC.com, or via the NBC app, which is available on iOS and Android—as well as OTT platforms like Amazon Fire, Apple TV, Roku, Samsung TV, and Xbox. (Sorry, PlayStation owners, no NBC app for you, though there are plenty of other options. Keep reading.) And this year, for the first time ever, the ceremony will also be airing on NBC’s official Facebook page.

If you’re among the cord-cutting ranks, you can still watch live—well, stream—via platforms such as Hulu with Live TV, PlayStation Vue, Sling TV, and YouTube TV. (Many of those, of course, have their own apps for smartphones, tablets, game consoles, and smart TVs.)

If you don’t have any of these options, have you thought about calling Rod and Sherry next door? They’re nice, if a little quiet, and can be won over with snacks. (Just keep in mind that, while they say they love your bean dip, they largely leave it untouched.)

What About the Pre-Shows?

The red carpet arrivals—in which eerily over-smiling, Muppet-like creatures awkwardly ask famous people about international events—will begin with E! Countdown to the Red Carpet: The 2019 Golden Globe Awards. That special airs Sunday, starting at 1pm Pacific (4pm Eastern), and you can watch it on E!, or on the network’s smartphone app. If you can only find time for a few red carpet looks, or even slayalicious lewks , there are multiple specials airing closer to the show’s starting time: E!’s Live From the Red Carpet —also on the network’s smartphone app—starts at 3pm Pacific (6pm Eastern). Meanwhile, NBC’s own arrivals show starts at 4pm Pacific (7pm Eastern) on the website, the network’s app, and its Facebook page.

There’s also a red carpet show produced by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association—the organization that presents the awards—airing on the official Golden Globes site and on Facebook's Watch platform starting at 3pm Pacific (6pm Eastern). Make sure you watch all at once, so you can clock Lady Gaga’s expression as she politely and repeatedly is forced to pretend no one’s ever asked her which she prefers, singing or acting!

Once the whole thing is over—hopefully by 8pm Pacific (11pm Eastern)—you can then tune into E!’s Busy Tonight Live: Golden Globes After Party , hosted by Busy Philipps, which will also be on E! and its smartphone app.

Globe-Trotting

Of course, one of the best ways to watch any awards show is to keep up on Twitter, where breakout moments and weirdo red-carpet comments are immediately consumed, archived, and memed into awards-show infamy. This year, the show’s highlights will also be broadcast on Snapchat Discover about an hour after the show begins . That’s a lot of GlobesTent(™) to consume in one night, but we know you can do it. Have fun at your at-home awards ceremony, and stay golden !

  • The Pentagon's plan to win over Silicon Valley's AI experts
  • Bell's V-280 Valor tiltrotor flies through a year of testing
  • Beware of the most dangerous people on the internet
  • Magnified frost crystal images are totally enchanting
  • The streaming wars have only just begun
  • 👀 Looking for the latest gadgets? Check out our picks, gift guides, and best deals all year round
  • 📩 Want more? Sign up for our daily newsletter and never miss our latest and greatest stories
Read also:   Related Stories The hope for many of these companies, of course, is that they can prove to be a viable competitor to Netflix, which is expected to hit nearly 150 million worldwide subscribers by year’s end, and which continues to mint must-see original shows ( The Haunting of Hill House ), specials (Hannah Gadsby’s Nanette ), and movies (the critically beloved, shakily handled Roma ).