These Are the Very Best Laptop Deals for Black Friday

These Are the Very Best Laptop Deals for Black Friday

For gaming, video editing, or other power-hungry tasks, aim for an Intel Core i7 or AMD Ryzen 7 processor with 16 gigabytes of RAM and a dedicated graphics card by Nvidia or AMD.Be sure to read our guide to the best laptops , best cheap laptops , best MacBooks , and best Surface PCs for more recommendations.Microsoft Surface Deals.

A Facebook Messenger Flaw Could Have Let Hackers Listen In

A Facebook Messenger Flaw Could Have Let Hackers Listen In

Discovered by Natalie Silvanovich of Google's Project Zero bug hunting team , the vulnerability, which is now patched, could have been exploited on Messenger for Android if an attacker simultaneously called a target and sent them a specially crafted, invisible message to trigger the attack.

16 Stress-Relieving Gifts to Make 2020 More Bearable

16 Stress-Relieving Gifts to Make 2020 More Bearable

Photograph: Amazon Lemome Cork Bullet Journal Notebook for $13: Bullet journaling can be a meditative experience to help make sense of all the thoughts, desires, and accomplishments that swirl in the head.

The Senate's Section 230 Discourse Somehow Keeps Getting Dumber

The Senate's Section 230 Discourse Somehow Keeps Getting Dumber

At the risk of imposing more coherence than there really was, the main line of attack on Section 230 from Senate Republicans today was that Twitter and Facebook are no longer mere neutral platforms, but rather act as publishers, making editorial decisions about what content to allow and when to add their own content.

‘One Person’s Apocalypse Is Another Person’s Day-to-Day’

‘One Person’s Apocalypse Is Another Person’s Day-to-Day’

Xiaowei Wang: The subjects and places throughout the book have a mood that I like to term “modernity gone off the rails.” For example, Dinglou village was a boomtown—it had developed really fast, from farmland to a bustling center.

A Ransomware Gang Bought Facebook Ads to Troll Its Victim

A Ransomware Gang Bought Facebook Ads to Troll Its Victim

Russian and North Korean Hackers Hit Covid-19 Vaccine FirmsAuthorities have warned for months that public health organizations and vaccine developers would be high-value targets for state-sponsored hacking groups .

Inside Parler, the Right's Favorite 'Free Speech' App

Inside Parler, the Right's Favorite 'Free Speech' App

Right-wing luminaries who still have profiles on “lamestream” social media have made posts encouraging their followers to get off Facebook and Twitter and join them on Parler instead.

Cool Green Fall Book Review

Cool Green Fall Book Review

And Burke spends time understanding what motivates guides and their clients to destroy family ties and friendships in pursuit of fish.It’s a story in the tradition of Ahab and Santiago, and one of the more enjoyable fishing books I’ve read this year.

It's Hard to Escape Facebook's Vortex of Polarization

It's Hard to Escape Facebook's Vortex of Polarization

While there’s little evidence to support that Facebook is biased against conservative users, University of Virginia professors Brent Kitchens and Steven Johnson found that, by maximizing for engagement and attention, Facebook’s algorithms actively push conservatives toward more radical content than liberal users.

On the Week of the Election, Social Media Must Go Dark

On the Week of the Election, Social Media Must Go Dark

Platforms could either collect such information through the mainstream press or set up a hotline allowing users to report election problems to the social media companies themselves, which would then verify the authenticity of tips before alerting users.

I Didn’t Want to Love Zooming on My Facebook Portal—but I Do

I Didn’t Want to Love Zooming on My Facebook Portal—but I Do

There’s now a booming industry of gadgets for turning a computer into a home video studio: webcams, laptop stands, speakers, lights.But I have a solution that will be cheaper, easier, and probably work better: Just Zoom on a Facebook Portal.

The DOJ Is Fighting Google on a Shifting Battlefield

The DOJ Is Fighting Google on a Shifting Battlefield

Marissa Mayer, Google’s 20th employee who later went on to lead Yahoo!, once told me that for many years, Google would do a test: It would show a certain percentage of users a version of search with no ads, to see if people preferred a commercially pristine experience.

The New Adaptation of The Witches Is Almost Too Much Fun

The New Adaptation of The Witches Is Almost Too Much Fun

Roald Dahl’s 1983 children’s fantasy novel The Witches begins with a simple declaration: “This is not a fairy tale.” Witches, the unnamed boy narrator claims, are real.

What Even Is Friction, Anyway?

What Even Is Friction, Anyway?

In some way, the atoms on the surface of the wood block are interacting with the surface atoms on the table.That is to say, the frictional force pushes in a direction to try to prevent sliding.

It’s Time to Talk About Covid-19 and Surfaces Again

It’s Time to Talk About Covid-19 and Surfaces Again

Berman was aware of the practical issues raised by putting books in purgatory for so long, but she had a broader concern: that all this research was encouraging an undue fixation, or even a fear, of the objects librarians are meant to joyfully share with the public.

Amazon Prime Day 2020: The 15 Best Laptop Deals (Updated)

Amazon Prime Day 2020: The 15 Best Laptop Deals (Updated)

It's still powerful though, with an Intel i7 chip, an Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660 graphics card, 18-gigabytes of RAM, a 256-gigabyte SSD, and a 15.6-inch Full HD 144-Hz display.

Put Trump's Tweets on a Time Delay

Put Trump's Tweets on a Time Delay

We applaud these changes, and believe that if Twitter is serious about its stated goal of “protecting the integrity of the election conversation,” there's another thing the platform should consider: putting a time delay on the tweets of Donald Trump and other political elites.

Facebook Shut Down Malware That Hijacked Accounts to Run Ads

Facebook Shut Down Malware That Hijacked Accounts to Run Ads

Today at the digital Virus Bulletin security conference, Facebook researchers presented a detailed picture of how the malware, dubbed SilentFade, actually works and some of its novel methods, including proactively blocking a user's notifications so the victim wouldn't be aware that anything was amiss.

An Insider's Look at How the Mueller Investigation Fell Flat

An Insider's Look at How the Mueller Investigation Fell Flat

Weissmann’s book is the first to emerge from the famously tight-lipped special counsel’s office, and he paints an eloquent and ultimately dispiriting picture of a talented team of some of the nation’s best investigators stymied on three sides: by uncooperative witnesses, by Mueller’s “punctilious[ness] about due process and rectitude,” and most of all by a president who on multiple occasions criminally obstructed justice.

Facebook Busts Russian Disinfo Networks as US Election Looms

Facebook Busts Russian Disinfo Networks as US Election Looms

Facebook attributed one of the disinformation distribution networks to "actors associated with election interference in the US in the past, including those involved in 'DC leaks' in 2016.The network tied to IRA-linked individuals included accounts and groups collectively posing as a Turkey-based think tank.

Go Ahead, Try to Sneak Bad Words Past AI Filters—for Research

Go Ahead, Try to Sneak Bad Words Past AI Filters—for Research

Facebook’s project comes as more AI researchers, including the social network’s VP of artificial intelligence , say the field needs to broaden its horizons if computers are to become capable of handling complex, real world situations.

Covid-19 Support Groups Are a Potential Research Gold Mine

Covid-19 Support Groups Are a Potential Research Gold Mine

However, according to John Naslund, who studies digital mental health at Harvard Medical School, the Covid-19 pandemic has created an unprecedented surge in online activity.It’s interesting that they’re not considered essential.” In his research into online groups dedicated to mental health issues, he’s found such communities to be incredibly helpful for some people’s wellbeing.

What Even Is ‘Coordinated Inauthentic Behavior’ on Platforms?

What Even Is ‘Coordinated Inauthentic Behavior’ on Platforms?

Like so many of the revelations about content that violates platform policies, the TPA posts were revealed not through the platforms’ own moderators, but through the intrepid reporting of journalists.

Platforms' Election 'Fixes' Are Rooted in Flawed Philosophy

Platforms' Election 'Fixes' Are Rooted in Flawed Philosophy

Three and a half years ago, as the country came to understand the outsize role of social media manipulation in electing Donald Trump, you might have imagined that by the next time around the major platforms would have profoundly changed the way politics is conducted online and come to grips with essential design flaws.

Section 230 Is a Government License to Build Rage Machines

Section 230 Is a Government License to Build Rage Machines

Section 230 of the Communications Decency Act protects “interactive computer services” like Facebook and Google from legal liability for the posts of their users.We could start by limiting Section 230 and making the platforms responsible, like any other publisher, for content they decide to promote and amplify.

The 20-Year Hunt for the Man Behind the Love Bug Virus

The 20-Year Hunt for the Man Behind the Love Bug Virus

He’d been accused of unleashing the Love Bug , a high-profile and extremely successful virus that had infected an estimated 45 million computers worldwide and caused billions of dollars’ worth of damage.

The First Dune Trailer Makes Some Epic Promises

The First Dune Trailer Makes Some Epic Promises

The first trailer for Dune begins much like the book on which it’s based: with Paul Atreides (Timothée Chalamet) revealing he has dreams that often come true.Where Jodorowsky would’ve made an hours-long film to work in all of Herbert’s detail, Villeneuve is splitting the book into two movies.

How to Boost WhatsApp’s Privacy and Better Protect Your Data

How to Boost WhatsApp’s Privacy and Better Protect Your Data

However, it’s worth stressing that the content of the messages you send isn’t shared, as Facebook doesn’t have access to them due to WhatsApp’s end-to-end encryption .WhatsApp collects more information about you than it shares with Facebook.

Facebook's Zuckerberg Says He's Got Election Stuff Under Control

Facebook's Zuckerberg Says He's Got Election Stuff Under Control

In a blog post, Mark Zuckerberg laid out Facebook’s latest election-related policies, including its plan to deal with the possibility that a winner won’t be officially declared on Election Day. The company plans to use its new Voting Information Center “to prepare people for the possibility that it may take a while to get official results.” On Election Day, the information center will include authoritative information from Reuters and the National Election Pool.

The Blurred Lines and Closed Loops of Google Search

The Blurred Lines and Closed Loops of Google Search

In May of this year, Arizona attorney general Mark Brnovich sued Google under the state’s Consumer Fraud Act, alleging "widespread and systemic use of deceptive and unfair business practices to obtain information about the location of its users.” Even a privacy-focused Google software engineer didn’t understand how location controls worked, according to recently unsealed court documents from the case first reported by the Arizona Mirror.